Storm Water Utility Board

Storm Water Utility Board

The Cumberland Storm Water Utility provides service to residents of the Town of Cumberland via the Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) guidelines as mandated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Clean Water Act and the guidelines of the Indiana Department of Environmental Management. 

The Cumberland Storm Water Utility Board is comprised of three citizen members.  The Board meetings are conducted on the third Wednesday of the month at 6 p.m. in the Cumberland Town Hall and they are open to the public.  The Board is responsible for the financial oversight of the utility and reviews all requests for subdivision and commercial connections as well as operations and maintenance-related projects.  The Board also oversees activities that serve to regulate discharges of prohibited non-storm water flows into the storm drain system, drainage improvements related to development of lands with the corporate boundaries, erosion and sediment control systems installed during new construction, and any other control measures required to preserve the drinking water quality of discharges to area streams.

Ben Lipps serves as the Town of Cumberland's Director of Public Works.  In this role, he oversees the sanitary sewer, water, storm water utilities, parks, and streets.  If you have questions on connecting into the Cumberland Storm Water Utility, please contact Ben Lipps Director of Public Works at (317) 894-6218.

Monthly billing questions should be directed to the Billing Office at (317) 894-3580 for Town of Cumberland residents.

The Board consists of the following members:

Members Term Expires Appointed By
John Covington 12/31/2016 Town Council President
Tom Alstott 12/31/2018 Town Council President
Jerry Wilson 12/31/2017 Town Council President